Marienforum‘s powerful, striking architecture is the work of the architects at the Berlin firm Thomas Müller Ivan Reimann, who will thus define the Frankfurt cityscape for a while to come. With Patricia Urquiola, the building features the design idiom one of the most renowned contemporary interior designers. Together the two international teams impact on the shape and emotional expression of the building. Outside and inside meld to form a style-defining symbiosis.

Marienforum‘s powerful, striking architecture is the work of the architects at the Berlin firm Thomas Müller Ivan Reimann, who will thus define the Frankfurt cityscape for a while to come. With Patricia Urquiola, the building features the design idiom one of the most renowned contemporary interior designers. Together the two international teams impact on the shape and emotional expression of the building. Outside and inside meld to form a style-defining symbiosis.

»With its generously dimensioned entrances and store windows, the Marienforum opens out onto Mainzer Landstrasse and the new Marienplatz.«

Thomas Müller, Thomas Müller Ivan Reimann Architekten

The urban design and architectural concept

An open house

From the very outset, enhancing the surrounding urban space was one of the most important criteria when developing the architectural concept for the Marienforum and the Marienturm. Both buildings benefit from the high-quality open spaces they create in the immediate vicinity. The Marienforum takes its place in this attractive context as an elegant office building with characteristics and an atmosphere all of its own. With its large outdoor terraces Marienplatz, directly adjacent to the Marienforum, will strongly define the locality and provide a vibrant zone for hospitality, encounters, interaction and relaxation.
read more

Urban density

In the development of the Marieninsel, Taunusanlage acts as the overarching, identity-fostering location. The contrast and link between these two highly different urban spaces create an appealing urban density both as regards the architecture and the versatile mix of opportunities, experiences and activities.

The architects

Thomas Müller Ivan Reimann Architekten have made a name for themselves with countless high-profile buildings such as the new German Federal Foreign Office and the German Federal Ministry of the Interior in Berlin, as well as the Präsidium and the faculties on Goethe University’s Westend campus in Frankfurt.

read less

Elegance

Emotion

Presence

Personality

Empathy

Consistency

Marienforum‘s powerful, striking architecture is the work of the architects at the Berlin firm Thomas Müller Ivan Reimann, who will thus define the Frankfurt cityscape for a while to come. With Patricia Urquiola, the building features the design idiom one of the most renowned contemporary interior designers. Together the two international teams impact on the shape and emotional expression of the building. Outside and inside meld to form a style-defining symbiosis.

Marienforum‘s powerful, striking architecture is the work of the architects at the Berlin firm Thomas Müller Ivan Reimann, who will thus define the Frankfurt cityscape for a while to come. With Patricia Urquiola, the building features the design idiom one of the most renowned contemporary interior designers. Together the two international teams impact on the shape and emotional expression of the building. Outside and inside meld to form a style-defining symbiosis.

“A sense of well-being in the work place is the product of interaction with the space. Of the balance of proportions, perception, materiality, light and sound.”

Patricia, Urquiola, Studio Urquiola

Interior design

A cosmopolitan approach, joie de vivre, elegance

Patricia Urquiola is exceptionally talented. The Spaniard, who has been based in Italy for many years now, is famous for an extensive range of furniture, objects and spaces, and with her unmistakable style has created an impressive oeuvre. She has self-confidently and sensitively found a face for the Marienforum’s “Cultivating Work” concept and developed an interior design that exudes joie de vivre and true elegance. read more

Patricia Urquiola for Marienforum

Patricia Urquiola is a designer who works intuitively and personally. Her interpretation of “Cultivating Work” combines a sensory, emotional experience of the space with a sure feel for future users’ needs.
Her choice of high-grade materials, which she masterfully integrates into the design of the Marienforum, plays a decisive role and expresses an appreciation of the the place where people work.

Stations in her life

Spaniard Patricia Urquiola lives and works in Milan

She studied Architecture and Industrial Design in Madrid and Milan

From 1991 to 1996 she worked in the DePadova design studio

In 1996 she was made director of the Piero Lissoni design studio

In 2001 she founded her own company, Studio Urquiola, in Milan: for architecture, interior design and product design

In 2015 she was appointed Creative Director at Cassina, Italian furniture makers and a member of the Poltrona Frau Group

Today, she collaborates with companies such as Moroso, B&B Italia, Boffi, Driade, Kartell, Kettal, Molteni, Flos, Axor/Hansgrohe, to name but a few. Her most recent projects include the Mandarin Oriental Hotel in Barcelona and Das Stue in Berlin.

read less

Brass

Wood

Natural stone

Glass

Marble

Metal

Die kraftvolle und markante Architektur des Marienforums entstammt dem Berliner Architekturbüro Thomas Müller Ivan Reimann, die damit das Stadtbild Frankfurts nachhaltig prägen werden. Mit Patricia Urquiola fließt die Designsprache einer der renommiertesten zeitgenössischen Interior-Designerinnen in das Gebäude. Gemeinsam wirken die beiden internationalen Teams auf die Form und den emotionalen Ausdruck des Gebäudes ein. Außen und innen verschmelzen zu einer stilprägenden Symbiose.

Die kraftvolle und markante Architektur des Marienforums entstammt dem Berliner Architekturbüro Thomas Müller Ivan Reimann, die damit das Stadtbild Frankfurts nachhaltig prägen werden. Mit Patricia Urquiola fließt die Designsprache einer der renommiertesten zeitgenössischen Interior-Designerinnen in das Gebäude. Gemeinsam wirken die beiden internationalen Teams auf die Form und den emotionalen Ausdruck des Gebäudes ein. Außen und innen verschmelzen zu einer stilprägenden Symbiose.

»Mit großzügigen Eingängen und Schaufensterflächen öffnet sich das Marienforum zur Mainzer Landstraße und zum neu geschaffenen Marienplatz.«

Thomas Müller, Thomas Müller Ivan Reimann Architekten

Das städtebauliche und architektonische Konzept

Ein offenes Haus

Die Aufwertung der anliegenden Stadträume war von Anfang an eine der wichtigsten Entwurfskriterien bei der Entwicklung des architektonischen Konzeptes für das Marienforum. Das Haus mit seiner ruhigen Fassade aus hellem Naturstein präsentiert sich als elegantes Bürogebäude mit eigener Charakteristik und Atmosphäre. Der direkt an das Marienforum angrenzende Marienplatz mit seinen großen Außenterrassen wird den Ort entscheidend prägen und eine lebendige Plattform für Gastronomie, Begegnung und Kommunikation darstellen. mehr lesen

Urbane Dichte

Die Taunusanlage profiliert sich in der Entwicklung der Marieninsel als übergeordneter, identitätsstiftender Standort. Der Kontrast und die Verbindung dieser in ihrem Charakter so verschiedenen großstädtischen Räume erzeugen eine interessante urbane Dichte – in Bezug sowohl auf die Architektur als auch auf den vielseitigen Mix von Möglichkeiten, Erlebnissen und Aktivitäten.

Die Architekten

Thomas Müller Ivan Reimann Architekten haben sich mit zahlreichen repräsentativen Bauten einen Namen gemacht, zum Beispiel mit den Neubauten für das Auswärtige Amt und für das Bundesministerium des Inneren in Berlin sowie mit dem Präsidium und den Fakultätsgebäuden auf dem Campus Westend der Goethe-Universität in Frankfurt.

weniger lesen

Eleganz

Emotion

Präsenz

Persönlichkeit

Empathie

Konsequenz

Die kraftvolle und markante Architektur des Marienforums entstammt dem Berliner Architekturbüro Thomas Müller Ivan Reimann, die damit das Stadtbild Frankfurts nachhaltig prägen werden. Mit Patricia Urquiola fließt die Designsprache einer der renommiertesten zeitgenössischen Interior-Designerinnen in das Gebäude. Gemeinsam wirken die beiden internationalen Teams auf die Form und den emotionalen Ausdruck des Gebäudes ein. Außen und innen verschmelzen zu einer stilprägenden Symbiose.

Die kraftvolle und markante Architektur des Marienforums entstammt dem Berliner Architekturbüro Thomas Müller Ivan Reimann, die damit das Stadtbild Frankfurts nachhaltig prägen werden. Mit Patricia Urquiola fließt die Designsprache einer der renommiertesten zeitgenössischen Interior-Designerinnen in das Gebäude. Gemeinsam wirken die beiden internationalen Teams auf die Form und den emotionalen Ausdruck des Gebäudes ein. Außen und innen verschmelzen zu einer stilprägenden Symbiose.

»Wohlbefinden am Arbeitsplatz entsteht durch die Interaktion mit dem Raum.
In der Balance von Proportionen, Wahrnehmung, Materialität, Licht und Klang.«

Patricia, Urquiola, Studio Urquiola

Das Interior Design

Weltoffenheit, Lebensfreude, Noblesse

Patricia Urquiola ist ein Ausnahmetalent. Die Spanierin und Wahlitalienerin hat bereits ein umfangreiches Spektrum an Möbeln, Objekten und Räumen entworfen und so mit ihrer unverwechselbaren Handschrift ein beeindruckendes Gesamtwerk geschaffen. Selbstbewusst und einfühlsam hat sie dem Konzept des »Cultivating Work« im Marienforum Gestalt verliehen und ein Interior Design entwickelt, das Lebensfreude und Noblesse ausstrahlt. mehr lesen

Patricia Urquiola für Marienforum

Patricia Urquiola ist eine Designerin, deren persönliche Note beeindruckt. Ihre Interpretation von »Cultivating Work« verbindet ein sinnliches, emotionales Raumerlebnis mit einem sicheren Gespür für die Bedürfnisse zukünftiger Nutzer. Ihre Auswahl, die Qualität und die Integration von kostbaren Materialien spielen bei der Gestaltung des Marienforums eine entscheidende Rolle und sind Ausdruck der Wertschätzung für den Ort, an dem wir arbeiten.

Stationen

Die Spanierin Patricia Urquiola lebt und arbeitet in Mailand

Sie studierte Architektur und Industriedesign in Madrid und Mailand

Von 1991 bis 1996 arbeitete sie im Designstudio von DePadova

1996 übernahm sie die Leitung des Designstudios Piero Lissoni

2001 gründete sie in Mailand ihr eigenes Studio für Architektur, Interior Design und Produktdesign, Studio Urquiola

2015 wurde sie zur Kreativdirektorin von Cassina ernannt, einem italienischen Möbelhersteller, Gruppe Poltrona Frau

Heute arbeitet sie für Unternehmen wie Moroso, B&B Italia, Boffi, Driade, Kartell, Kettal, Molteni, Flos, Axor/Hansgrohe u. v. m. Zu ihren jüngsten Projekten gehören das Mandarin Oriental Hotel in Barcelona und Das Stue in Berlin.

weniger lesen

Messing

Holz

Naturstein

Glas

Marmor

Metall